Illustrated aerial map showing city streets river and bridges

Electoral Boundaries Commission

After every two general elections, a three-person, independent, and non-partisan electoral boundaries commission is established. The commission proposes changes to the area, boundaries and names of British Columbia’s provincial electoral districts. This ensures that each MLA represents a similar number of people.

The Legislative Assembly reviews the commission’s proposals and votes to approve them, reject them, or approve them with alterations. If the commission’s proposals are approved or approved with alterations, the government must introduce them as a Bill.

The current electoral boundaries commission was established on October 21, 2021. Learn more about the commission’s work and opportunities for public input at

To see past electoral boundary commission reports, visit our Reports page.