COVID-19 and Elections BC.
Secondary Menu button for mobile only

Site Menu button for mobile devices HOME




Electoral districts (also known as ridings or constituencies) are geographic areas defined in the Electoral Districts Act. Each electoral district is represented by a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). There are currently 87 electoral districts in British Columbia.

Historical Maps

  • Electoral Districts of British Columbia – First General Election for British Columbia – 1871 (PDF)

Maps for the 2017 Provincial General Election

Digital Maps

Printable Maps

GIS Spatial Data Files*

  • Spatial data for electoral boundaries can be obtained through DataBC’s Data Warehouse. For a complete listing of available datasets including; shape files, kml files and conversion tables, please visit Elections BC’s page within the Data Catalogue.

* Elections BC does not warrant or guarantee the accuracy or reliability of spatial data when used in conjunction with other spatial data. The GIS spatial data files should not be used to determine a voter’s electoral district or voting area.
Contact Elections BC for maps and products from the 1989, 1999, and 2008 Redistributions.

Demographic information

BC Stats provides 2011 Census data by electoral district: