COVID-19 and Elections BC.
Secondary Menu button for mobile only

Site Menu button for mobile devices HOME

Electoral Boundaries Commission Reports

British Columbia is currently divided into 87 areas called electoral districts. Each electoral district is represented by one Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). Every eight years a three-person, independent, non-partisan electoral boundaries commission is established to propose changes to the area, boundaries and names of the electoral districts of British Columbia. This ensures that each MLA represents a similar number of people.

The Legislative Assembly reviews the commission’s proposals and votes to approve them, reject them, or approve them with alterations. If the commission’s proposals are approved or approved with alterations, the government must introduce them as a bill.

On May 9, 2014 the 2015 Commission (Melnick Commission) was appointed. The 2015 Commission submitted its final proposals to the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on September 24, 2015. The Legislative Assembly voted to approve the proposals and on November 17, 2015 passed the Electoral Districts Act, establishing 87 electoral districts. The electoral districts came into force when the 2017 General Election was called.

Please see below for links to the commission’s Preliminary Report and Final Report. Also available are reports from past commissions.

Amendments to the Preliminary Report – February 14, 2008
British Columbia Electoral Boundaries Commission

Preliminary Report – August 15, 2007

British Columbia Electoral Boundaries Commission