Secondary Menu button for mobile only

Site Menu button for mobile devices HOME

Media Advisory: Advance Voting Starts Tomorrow

April 28, 2017

VICTORIA – Advance voting for the 41st Provincial General Election starts tomorrow, and all eligible voters can vote at any advance voting place in B.C.

There will be six days of advance voting for this election, up from four in the last provincial general election in 2013. Advance voting is available on Saturday and Sunday, April 29 and 30, and Wednesday, May 3 through Saturday, May 6. All advance voting places are open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. (local time), though voters should note that not all advance voting places are open every day of the advance voting period.

Voters can use Elections BC’s Where to Vote application, available at, to find advance voting places in their electoral district or close to them and the dates they are open. A complete list of advance voting places and the dates they are open is also available at

All advance votes cast by voters within their electoral district are counted at initial count on election night.

Advance voting turnout statistics will be published at the link below the day after advance voting has taken place.

In the 2013 Provincial General Election, 366,558 votes (20.34% of total votes) were cast at advance voting opportunities.

Voters are reminded to bring their Where to Vote card and acceptable voter ID with them when they vote. A list of acceptable voter ID is available on the Elections BC website at

General Voting Day is Tuesday, May 9. All eligible voters can vote at any general voting place in the province between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m (Pacific time). Voting is also available at district electoral offices until 4 p.m. on General Voting Day.

For more information, visit the Elections BC website at

Advance voting places – 2017 Provincial General Election (PDF)
Advance voting turnout – 1996 to 2013 (PDF)

– 30 –

Andrew Watson
Communications Manager
Elections BC
Phone: 250-387-1709

Elections BC is a non-partisan Office of the Legislature responsible for administering electoral processes in British Columbia in accordance with the Election Act, Local Elections Campaign Financing Act, Recall and Initiative Act and Referendum Act.