Secondary Menu button for mobile only

Site Menu button for mobile devices HOME

Nanaimo By-election

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Nanaimo By-election

Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Voting in the Nanaimo By-election is now closed

At the conclusion of final count Sheila Malcolmson was elected as the MLA for Nanaimo.

Electoral District Candidate's Ballot Name Affiliation Total Valid Votes % of Popular Vote
  Justin Greenwood Conservative 491 2.02%
  Tony Harris BC Liberal Party 9,691 39.90%
Sheila Malcolmson BC NDP 12,114 49.88%
Michele Ney BC Green Party 1,783 7.34%
Robin Mark Richardson The Vancouver Island Party 112 0.46%
Bill Walker Libertarian 96 0.40%
Final voting results - Complete 24,287 100%

View Final Count Results here.

View Interim Voting Results by Voting Area here.


Candidate nominations for the Nanaimo by-election closed at 1 p.m. on Wednesday, January 9, 2019. The final list of candidates is shown below.

Read more about the electoral finance rules for candidates at

List of candidates

Ballot name Affiliation Financial agent Financial agent address Financial agent phone Official agent Official agent address
Justin Greenwood Conservative Ryan Warawa 103-1030 Robson St, Vancouver, BC, V6E 1A7 (604) 831-7309
Tony Harris BC Liberal Party Kevin Tang PO Box 28131, RPO West Pender, Vancouver, BC, V6C 3T7 (604) 606-6000 Lindsay Cote PO Box 28131, RPO West Pender, Vancouver, BC, V6C 3T7
Sheila Malcolmson BC NDP Ellen Oxman 5183 Koksilah Rd, Duncan, BC, V9L 6B6 (250) 739-3649
Michele Ney BC Green Party Karin Lengger 203-1180 View St, Victoria, BC, V8V 3M1 (250) 208-1591
Robin Mark Richardson The Vancouver Island Party Robin Mark Richardson 143-7 Chief Robert Sam Lane, Victoria, BC, V9A 7N3 (250) 388-4274
Bill Walker Libertarian Bill Walker 51A Commercial St, Nanaimo, BC, V9R 5G3 (250) 619-7744

Key Dates

Writ Day
The day the election is called.
Jan 2
General voter registration closes
Registration by phone at 1-800-661-8683 closes at 4:30 pm. Registration online closes at midnight. Voters can still register when they vote.
Jan 2
Close of candidate nominations, 1 p.m. Jan 9
Advance voting days* Jan 22-27
General Voting Day Jan 30
Initial count begins after 8 p.m.
Ballots cast at advance and general voting are counted, and preliminary results are announced.
Jan 30
Final count will begin
Absentee ballots are counted and final results are announced.
Feb 5
Election Financing Report filing deadline Apr 30

*Note that not all advance voting places will be open on all of these days.


Estimated Voter Turnout

The estimated voter turnout for the Nanaimo by-election is 53%. This number includes valid and rejected ballots at advance and general voting and estimates of new voter registrations and certification envelopes. A more accurate estimate of voter turnout will be released after final count, scheduled to begin on February 6.

Advance Voting Turnout

Tuesday, January 22, 20191,532
Wednesday, January 23, 20191,656
Thursday, January 24, 20191,328
Friday, January 25, 20191,387
Saturday, January 26, 20191,766
Sunday, January 27, 20191,653
Total Advance Turnout9,322

Total registered voters: 45,359

Advance voting was available from January 22 to January 27, 2019. General Voting Day was Wednesday, January 30, 2019.

Advance voting turnout figures are preliminary and will be adjusted as data is reported from the field.


News Releases

Writ of Election


  • Electoral district map (PDF, iMap)
  • Voting area maps (PDF)

Expenses Limits

Expenses limits for candidates, political parties, and third party advertising sponsors for the Nanaimo By-election were:

  • The expenses limit for candidates is $59,216.78.
  • The expenses limit for political parties is $59,216.78.
  • The expenses limit for third party advertising sponsors is $3,062.94.

All political participants in the by-election must file a financing report with Elections BC by the financing report filing deadline of Tuesday, April 30, 2019.